Curaçao is a constituent country of the Kingdom of the Netherlands located in the southern Caribbean Sea in the Dutch Caribbean region. The country includes the main island of Curaçao and a smaller, uninhabited island, Klein Curaçao. The population is 149,600 and the area of the island is 171 sq. miles. The languages are English, Dutch and Papiamento and its capital is Willemstad.

The country itself is quite precipitous and steep due to its geographical placement. The multiple forts on the island are a testament to its rich history and are residual evidence of the Dutch occupation of the island. Curaçao’s economy benefits from tourism, international trade, shipping services and oil refining. Tourism is greatly influenced by the large number of cruise ships docking at the island’s ports.

Filing Requirements


  • Local filing available. Validity period – 10 yrs from filing date.
  • Master AOAs signed by proprietor and notarized.
  • Declaration for Priority, signed by proprietor and notarized.
  • Priority filing accepted.
  • Only original documents will be accepted.
  • Classification system – International Classification System
  • Multi-class applications are allowed.


  • Master AOAs signed by proprietor and notarized.
  • Six months’ grace period.
  • Local – 10 yrs from renewal date.
  • English translation of goods is required.

Madrid Protocol

  • Curaçao is a party to the Madrid Protocol.